Posted by: peteinman | June 4, 2009

Configuring WebLogic ISAPI Plug-in On IIS 7 (Vista)

I thought this task was going to be harder than it actually was. I always found configuring the plug-in on IIS6 a bit hit and miss so expected more issues with IIS7.

I’ve not done this on any server products yet, so this is just on Windows Vista Business SP2.

Install ISAPI Filters Module on IIS

The first thing you need to do is ensure that you have installed the ISAPI filters module on IIS as per the details here: ISAPI Filters Module Installation 

Just go down to the “How To” section of that page.

IIS Configuration

When you start the IIS configuration manager in Vista, you should end up with a screen which looks something like this, with the two new shortcuts for ISAPI configuration

image

These two!

image

You should have a default website enabled, and I’m going to assume that you want to proxy ALL requests which hit this IIS server through to a WebLogic server.

I’m also going to assume that you have a working IIS proxy configuration on an older version of IIS and are just moving to 7 as I don’t want to get into the nuts and bolts of configuring the IIS proxy!

The first thing I did was to set the home directory for my “Default Web Site” to be a folder where my iisforward.dll, iisproxy.dll & iisproxy.ini files were located. For this article I will assume this folder is c:\domains\iisplugin.

You get to this using the following screens using the right-click.

image

Select the advanced settings option and then set the property “Physical Path” to something like

image

Now, select the default web site and double click on the ISAPI Filters shortcut

image

You’ll be presented with an empty list. From here, if you right click and select Add, you’ll get the following.

image

Enter the following:

Filter Name: wlforward

Executable: c:\domains\iisplugin\iisforward.dll

Once that’s done, go back to the default website home, so you get the following screen

image

Double click, Handler Mappings and you’ll see something like this

image

From this screen, if you right click and select “Add Script Map”

image

you’ll get a screen as shown

image

Enter the following:

Request Path: *.wlforward

Executable: c:\domains\IISPlugin\iisproxy.dll

Name: IIS Proxy

You should then get a dialog box displayed which you should answer YES to.

image

Once you’ve done that, restart IIS and provided that the iisproxy.ini file is configured correctly, you should be able to access your weblogic server application.

That’s it!

Responses

  1. Hi, We are running into issues with the WebLogic plugin for IIS 7.0. About 1% of the requests for static contents takes more than 30 seconds to load. These static contents are served by IIS from the local disk. Dynamic requests routed to WebLogic are OK. Just wondering whether or not you experienced any similar issues.

  2. Sorry for the delay in replying – sounds a bit strange – did you get it sorted?

    I’ve not used IIS7 in a production environment yet, but can’t think of why static content would be slow to serve.

    I’ve also not got much experience of tuning IIS.

    Hope you get it sorted.

  3. I tried this, but it doesn’t seem to be forwarding anything.

    All I get is a list of files in the plug in folder if directory browsing is enabled, if not, 403 forbidden.

    Are you sure there isn’t something more to it?

    • Hmm, that’s all I did for it and I just took screenshots as I went. I use Windows 7 now and haven’t configured IIS in W7 yet, but I’ll go through my steps and see if I can see anything. Did you enable the proxy debugging in the iisproxy.ini file to see if that gave you anything? Pete

  4. Hi,

    THank you for your posting. It helped to configure. But while accessing my application I am getting an exception.

    HTTP Error 500.0 – Internal Server Error
    Calling LoadLibraryEx on ISAPI filter “E:\inetpub\wwwroot\iisforward.dll” failed

    Any pointers on this issue?

    Following are the entries in the iisproxy.ini

    WebLogicHost=173.37.167.156
    WebLogicPort=9704
    ConnectTimeoutSecs=20
    ConnectRetrySecs=2
    WlForwardPath=/

    Regards,
    Praveen

  5. I don’t have any more suggestions I’m afraid. I’ve not done much work with IIS7 since I wrote this original post.

    Sorry I can’t be more help. I will be configuring IIS7.5 on W2008R2 in the next few weeks though.

  6. Wonder if anyone is still reading this thread, there are a gazillion references to this blog…

    I have a problem, II7 and Weblogic 11g, and I can’t for the life of me get the proxy to work. I’ve followed these and other similar instructions a dozen of times, I always end up with a 404 when trying to access my proxied servlet.

    Where could I find a pertinent log in the system to see how far I’m getting? EventViewer shows nothing. I’ve specified a log file in my iisproxy.ini with debug=all, but it never gets created which makes me think IIS7 isn’t even getting that far.

    This has stumped me for hours, is there anyone who has successfully done this with IIS7 and W2008R2 -> Weblogic 11g?

    Thanks!

  7. Hi Peteinman,

    Thanks for the detailed steps to configure weblogic plugin, it worked for me.

  8. Hi,

    I was only able to get this working on IIS7 Windows 2008 64 bit server Weblogic 11g clustered server by using the 32 bit version of the plugin shipped with Oracle instead of the 64 bit version. (One wonders whether Oracle even tests this stuff before they ship it). Below is my iisproxy.ini file. Verbose debug logs are then written to c:\temp\wlproxy.log. Below xxxx:xxxx means hostname and port of the servers in the weblogic cluster.

    # This file contains initialization name/value pairs
    # for the IIS/WebLogic plug-in.
    WebLogicCluster=xxxxx:xxxx,xxxxx:xxxx,xxxxx:xxxx
    ConnectTimeoutSecs=20
    ConnectRetrySecs=2
    Debug=ALL
    WlForwardPath=/idm,/castylesr5.1.1,/iam,/SnoopServlet
    DebugConfigInfo=ON

  9. We had this problem initially – and the actual iisproxy.dll was corrupted and the wrong size.

    We have the 64 bit version running on Windows 2008R2 which uses IIS7.5 –

    We have a case open at the moment which looks like a bug and Oracle don’t support IIS7.5 only IIS7, even though 2008R2 has been around quite some time.

    • Hi peteinman,

      can you please help on this as i am trying to get IIS7.5 working with weblogic10.3.5.Every time i am end up witht the one or other error.

      icould you please provide the step wise ..how to configure II7.5 with weblogic10.3.5.

      any help will be appriacited.

      thanks ,
      ARAV

  10. We had an issue where IIS 7 was catching errors responses sent back by weblogic through the ISAPI filter. For example if you put the wrong log in credentials to the log in page. IIS was returning a custom 403 error page and not sending back our apps log in page in weblogic.

    This is due to IIS 7 handling custom error codes and sending back its own error pages. See more info at http://www.iis.net/ConfigReference/system.webServer/httpErrors

    In order to correct this behavior, we had to set the
    existingResponse=’PassThrough’ in the httpErrors section of the web.config for the website.

  11. For those receiving a 403 error the following configuration for the iisproxy.ini resolved my issue.

    WlForwardPath=/
    WebLogicCluster=localhost:9013,localhost:9012

    #Debug=OFF
    DynamicServerList=OFF
    ConnectTimeoutSecs=25
    ConnectRetrySecs=5
    Debug=ALL
    DebugConfigInfo=ON
    KeepAliveEnabled=true
    WLLogFile=c:/inetpub/logs/iisproxy-wb.log

    Remember to have “WlForwardPath” setting in place or else you’ll be redirected to the .dll folder location and get a 403 error.

  12. […] http://peteinman.wordpress.com/2009/06/04/configuring-weblogic-isapi-plug-in-on-iis-7-vista/ Share this post:TwitterFacebookEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

  13. […] http://peteinman.wordpress.com/2009/06/04/configuring-weblogic-isapi-plug-in-on-iis-7-vista/ Share this post:TwitterFacebookEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

